In English » Gluten-free Finland » Labelling of gluten-free foods

Labelling of gluten-free foods


The EU legislation require that all ingredients which may cause sensitivity or adverse/allergic reactions must be declared clearly on the package label. These ingredients include wheat, rye, barley, oats and gluten. Gluten cannot hide behind any class names or additive codes. The EU standard on gluten-free foods is currently in use throughout Europe, which means that a cereal product can be called “gluten-free” if it contains gluten not more than 20 mg/kg. There are also products called ”very low gluten”, meaning that they contain gluten over 20 but no more than 100 mg/kg.

Products labelled "gluten-free" or "very low gluten" may both contain wheat-starch or gluten-free oats.